The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra are lead by conductor/arranger Charles Mackerras for this performance of Sullivan’s Pineapple Poll on audiophile-quality 180g vinyl.

Sir Charles Mackerras’ arrangement of music by Sir Arthur Sullivan from the Gilbert & Sullivan operas for a comic ballet created by choreographer John Cranko, and premiered in 1951 at Sadler’s Wells Theatre in London. Pineapple Poll is based on “The Bumboat Woman’s Story,” one of W.S. Gilbert’s “Bab Ballads” written in 1870. The same story formed the basis of Gilbert & Sullivan’s “H.M.S. Pinafore” but for the ballet Cranko expanded the story of Bab Ballad and created a happy ending. The ballet remains in the repertoire of the Royal Birmingham Ballet and has been recorded many times. This atmospheric first stereo recording remains the finest both musically and technically.

Pineapple Poll was first performed in March 1951 at Sadler’s Wells Theatre, by the then Sadler’s Wells Theatre Ballet (now the Royal Ballet), with Elaine Fifield, David Blair and David Poole in the principal roles of Poll, Belaye and Jasper. Although many other ballets based on Gilbert and Sullivan were predicted after the immediate success of Pineapple Poll, at the time of writing no further such ballets have appeared, and with the copyright on Gilbert’s librettos expiring in 1962 it seems more likely that producers will turn their attention to new and original productions of the Savoy Operas themselves.

Recorded at EMI’s Abbey Road Studio No. 1 on November 20, 1960 and produced by Peter Andry, this reissue has been cut at Abbey Road from the original EMI master tapes. It’s been pressed on 180-gram vinyl on original EMI presses at The Vinyl Factory in Hayes, England.

“This ebullient dish-up of Sullivan…is played here with tremendous élan…the definitive recording.” – (Gramophone, 1962)

Arthur Sullivan (1842-1900)
Pineapple Poll
Scene I:
01. Opening Dance
02. Poll’s Solo and Pas de Deux
03. Belaye’s Solo
04. Pas de Trois
05. Finale
Scene II:
06. Poll’s Solo
07. Jasper’s Solo
Scene III:
08. Belay’s Solo and Sailor’s Drill
09. Poll’s Solo
10. Entry of Belaye with Blanche as Bride
11. Reconciliation
12. Grand Finale

Recorded at Studio No. 1, Abbey Road on November 23, 1960.

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Charles Mackerras

• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed on original EMI presses at The Vinyl Factory, Hayes, England
• Cut from original EMI Master Tapes at EMI’s Abbey Road Studios
• Featuring the original album artwork

Informations complémentaires

Poids 0,1 kg



Il n’y a pas encore d’avis.

Seuls les clients connectés ayant acheté ce produit ont la possibilité de laisser un avis.