“One of the King’s best movie soundtracks…”

King Creole is Elvis Presley‘s sixth album and his fourth film, released in 1958, it was the last movie Elvis made before entering the army and features him in a serious dramatic role, rather than the light romantic comedies he would soon become known for in the early 60’s. The album includes songs written and recorded expressly for the film and followed the film release by over ten weeks. The album peaked at #2 on the Billboard Top Pop Albums chart.

The eleven songs include a hot title track by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller that was a dazzling showcase for Elvis‘ intense, exciting lead vocal. Leiber and Stoller had two other songs in the film including “Trouble,” arguably the film’s most memorable song. Years later Presley returned to this song for his tremendously successful television comeback special.

Other hits featured in the album are “Hard Headed Woman” and “Don’t Ask Me Why” which were also released as two sides of the first single on July 10, 1958, to coincide with the release of the film. “Hard Headed Woman,” the A-side, and “Don’t Ask Me Why” both made the pop singles chart, peaking at #1 and #25 respectively.

Elvis Presley had said in interviews that of all the 30 odd pictures he had made “King Creole” was his personal favorite.

BONUS: SACD package includes 4″ x 5″ replica of 1957 B & W ELVIS US Army Collector Photo that was included in the original LP release.


1. King Creole
2. As Long As I Have You
3. Hard Headed Woman
4. Trouble
5. Dixieland Rock
6. Don’t Ask Me Why   
7. Lover Doll
8. Crawfish
9. Young Dreams
10. Steadfast, Loyal And True
11. New Orleans

Additional information

Weight 0,2 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.