BUD POWELL / The Amazing Bud Powell Vol. 1


Newly-remastered for vinyl as part of an overall Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign spearheaded by current Blue Note Records President, Don Was.

The Amazing Bud Powell Volume 1 details two recording sessions. In the first, recorded on August 9, 1949, Powell performed in a quintet with Fats Navarro, Sonny Rollins, Tommy Potter and Roy Haynes, and in trio with Potter and Haynes. In the second, on May 1, 1951, Powell performed in trio with Curley Russell and Max Roach, and solo.

The initial track, Un Poco Loco, has been singled out by critics and cultural historians for its musical and cultural significance. Released in 1951, The Amazing Bud Powell is considered one of pianist Bud Powell’s most important recordings.

"...a strong sampling of pianist Bud Powell at his best."
-Scott Yanow, allmusic.com

• Vinyl LP
• Remastered & reissued as part of the Blue Note 75th Anniversary campaign
• Includes special Blue Note 75 vinyl sleeve that features album cover art for 75 Blue Note Titles
• First run pressings to include Blue Note 75th logo on back of package

August 9, 1949 session
Bud Powell, piano
Fats Navarro, trumpet
Sonny Rollins, tenor saxophone
Tommy Potter, bass
Roy Haynes, drums

May 1, 1951 session
Bud Powell, piano
Curly Russell, bass
Max Roach, drums

1. Un Poco Loco (1st Take)
2. Un Poco Loco (2nd Take)
3. Un Poco Loco
4. Dance of the Infidels
5. 52nd St. Theme
6. It Could Happen To You (Alternate Master)
7. A Night In Tunisia (Alternate Master)
8. A Night In Tunisia
9. Wail
10. Ornithology
11. Bouncing With Bud
12. Parisian Thoroughfare

Réf.: UNILP86470
Enregistrez-vous pour être averti quand le produit sera de nouveau disponible


29,00 €

Description du produit






Vous pourriez également être intéressé par les produits suivants: